My Father’s Slippers

We lived in a joint family, a conventional one, so all I have memories of me and Abbuji ( My father),all the years before I turned 9 , is getting a ride from him till the end of the street and back to home. He would do this every day while going to office. This was the only time we spent together.

And Then! He got promoted and transferred to another city; we all shifted to the new place. And there, I and my elder sister spent more time with him. We had Breakfast, lunch, tea, dinner together and enjoyed his more involvement in our lives. Sometimes he would wait along with Ammiji (My Mother) at the entrance of our home waiting for our bus. I remember how I used to run from bus stop to home, seeing them.

We loved being closer to him. He became a mentor to my sister and brother and a friend to me. Yeah.
Things were going smooth and good.

And one day, I slipped into his slippers.

His slippers were bigger than my feet but I loved wearing them. I would walk unnecessarily; roam in our garden in the afternoon, wearing them. He bought me new pairs of slippers thinking that I didn’t like mine. But I continued wearing his. This,sometimes,annoyed him and sometimes, made him smile.
But I still continued. Well Why?
I was 10. And my little brain told me that if I want to become like him, I need to follow his steps. And to follow his steps,I thought what could be better than his own Slippers.
You know What? That Worked. 🙂

I still wear his slippers though they are not that bigger like earlier. He bought exact pairs like his,for me, few days back but I (hehe) am still wearing his slippers now.

Old habits die hard 😉

PS- Am planning to wear Ammiji’s slipper from now on 😛 (balancing the traits)

486e2037c12d7f6611d717fa07a19fec

PS1- For my last post about him, he yesterday asked me to buy a new phone…soon.

(For this one am looking forward to a new cam.. LOL 😛 )

4 comments

  1. Darshith Badiyani · October 14, 2015

    I once wore sports shoes of my father when I was in standard 3 and fell due to laces and injured my chin 😦 so for me, no more wearing others shoes or slippers 😛

    Liked by 2 people

    • iam_rafat · October 14, 2015

      Haha 😀

      Well I didn’t stop on slippers.
      I got his watch.
      And sports shoes.
      And my eyes are on his old phone Nokia N 72 he he.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Nimz · October 15, 2015

    Sana.. ❤ 😉
    *winks* *winks* *winks*

    Like

Leave a Reply

